Welcome to The Pines, Kapunda
~ Natural and Built Heritage ~
Incorporating ‘Taylor’s Run’ Walking Trails
'The Pines' is so named, because of the Forestry Plantation on this site in the 1880’s. The last harvesting of these pine trees occurred in 1931. Two rows were left standing.
‘The Pines’ also incorporates the former ‘Taylor’s Run’ Reservoir which supplied water to the town by gravitational flow from 1879 to 1957.
The Pines Reserve was part of the Forestry Reserve
(1882 - 1925) and the site of much of the town’s early
social activity. The intention of the Forestry Board was to
create a section within the reserve and around the reservoir that was picturesque - a setting that locals could enjoy.
They did - and many picnics and other town festivities that included the usual frivolities of fun, games and gatherings were all enjoyed here for many years.
Amenities included a tennis court, three stone chimneys with open fires (which equated to crude BBQ’s) and two
After the trees were harvested and lifestyles slowly changed, the area gradually became neglected. However, thanks to the help of dedicated locals, the reserve now features walking trails where one can enjoy the sight of delicate wildflowers and hear the tranquil hiss of the wind through the many gum trees that populate the area. It is still a beautiful setting to enjoy a quiet picnic.